Things you should know about Ranji Trophy

In India, cricket is a religion. We devote sheer dedication for this game. Along with the Indian cricket team, we also follow several other international cricket matches. The selectors play a huge role in maintaining the high performance of any team in their good and bad conditions.

Every nation has their own domestic tournament which helps the selectors to keep an eye on the upcoming cricketers of their country. The main objective of such domestic tournament is to groom the cricketers and provide quality training to them so that they are well prepared to play at international level.

In India for T20 format, there is IPL which provides the necessary opportunity for young talented cricketers to grow and improve at an individual level. Similarly, the major domestic first-class tournament in India is Ranji Trophy which sets the basic foundation of a cricketer.

Before playing for India, the main aim of a cricketer is to play for their state team in Ranji trophy. Getting a chance to play for the Indian team is majorly dependent on the performance of a player in Ranji Trophy and IPL.

The Ranji Trophy is a domestic first-class cricket championship played in India between teams representing regional cricket associations. This domestic competition is named after first Indian cricketer who played for England and Sussex, Ranjit Singh ji who was also known as “Ranji”. The competition was started as “The Cricket Championship of India” in 1934.

The competition currently consists of 27 teams with 21 Indian states. The 27 teams are as follows:

  1. Andhra Pradesh
  2. Assam
  3. Baroda
  4. Bengal
  5. Delhi
  6. Goa
  7. Gujarat
  8. Haryana
  9. Himachal Pradesh
  10. Hyderabad
  11. Jammu and Kashmir
  12. Jharkhand/Bihar
  13. Karnataka
  14. Kerala
  15. Madhya Pradesh
  16. Maharashtra
  17. Mumbai
  18. Odisha
  19. Punjab
  20. Railways
  21. Rajasthan
  22. Saurashtra
  23. Services
  24. Tamil Nadu
  25. Tripura
  26. Uttar Pradesh
  27. Vidarbha


The current format of the tournament has a two-tier system. The top tier has 18 teams in two sub-groups known as Group A and Group B which has 9 teams each. Both Group A and Group B are considered equal in status. The 2nd tier has 9 teams in a single group known as Group C. The top three teams from Groups A and B and the top two from Group C contest the knockout phase. The lowest placed team in each of Group A and Group B is demoted to Group C, and the top 2 teams from Group C are promoted to the top tier.

Round-robin matches are of 4 days and knockout matches are played for 5 days. If there is no outright result in a Ranji Trophy knock-out match, the team leading after the first innings is declared as the winner.

Six points are awarded to a winning team in the tournament and one bonus point if the win is by an inning or by 10 wickets. For a 1st inning lead in a drawn match, 3 points are awarded to the leading team and one point is given to the opponent team. In the case of no result, 1 point is awarded to both the teams.

Karnataka is the current Ranji champion, having beaten Tamil Nadu by an innings and 217 runs in the finals of the 2014-15 Season. Mumbai has won the tournament the most number of times with 40 wins. The highest team score in a Ranji match ever is 944/6 declared scored by Hyderabad against Andhra in 1993-94.

(Image Source: Google Images)

Comments via Facebook


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.